***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

On Wednesday Congressman Ken Buck (R-CO-04) announced the circulation of a pledge asking members to oppose any Financial Services and General Government (FSGG) appropriation for the IRS until the provision adding 87,000 new agents in the Inflation Reduction Act is repealed.  Rep. Buck stated the following on the announcement of his effort:

“While the overall bill was a deeply misguided effort, the provision providing 87,000 new IRS agents will have an enormous negative impact on everyday Americans.  The intent is clear: to unleash the agency on regular Americans’ tax returns and small businesses at a level never before seen in our history.  Republicans cannot sit idly by and fund the agency responsible for this financial repression.  I urge my colleagues to join me in this effort.”


Original signers of the pledge include Reps: Marjorie Taylor Green (R-GA-14), Mary Miller (R-IL-15), Mike Carey (R-OH-15), Byron Donalds (R-FL-19), Ralph Norman (R-SC-05), Burgess Owens (R-UT-04), Scott Perry (R-PA-10), Bob Good (R-VA-05), Greg Steube (R-FL-17), Victoria Spartz (R-IN-05), Troy Nehls (R-TX-22), Doug LaMalfa (R-CA-01), Rick Allen (R-GA-12), Alex Mooney (R-WV-02), Gus Bilirakis (R-FL-12), Glenn Grothman (R-WI-06), Andrew Clyde (R-GA-09), Bill Posey (R-FL-08), Lance Gooden (R-TX-05), Andy Biggs (R-AZ-05), and Lisa McClain (R-MI-10).

Pledge signatories commit to opposing any FSGG appropriation for the IRS, either through the regular process or an omnibus spending bill, until the provision of the Inflation Reduction Act adding the additional agents to the IRS is repealed.

Author: Press Release

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here