***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on grassroots financial supporters to exist. If you appreciate what we do, please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter (even just $5/month would go a long way in sustaining us!) We also offer advertising options for advocacy groups, events and businesses! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News Media” — this is YOUR chance to do something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250 Thank you so much for your support and please invite your friends and family to like us on Facebook, sign up for our email newsletter and visit our website!***

Eleven Republican senators have announced they will join Sen. Josh Hawley’s effort to object to the results of the Electoral College on Jan. 6.

Sen. Ted Cruz is joining Senators Ron Johnson, James Lankford, Steve Daines, John Kennedy, Marsha Blackburn and Mike Braun.

Johnson is of interest simply because he represents Wisconsin, one of the swing states likely to be in question.

Four incoming senators plan to object as well — Cynthia Lummis, Roger Marshall, Bill Hagerty and Tommy Tuberville.

“Voter fraud has posed a persistent challenge in our elections, although its breadth and scope are disputed,” the statement said. “By any measure, the allegations of fraud and irregularities in the 2020 election exceed any in our lifetimes.”

The senators are asking for Congress to appoint a commission to conduct a 10-day emergency audit of the results in disputed states.

“In 1877, Congress did not ignore those allegations, nor did the media simply dismiss those raising them as radicals trying to undermine democracy,” the statement said. “Instead, Congress appointed an Electoral Commission — consisting of five Senators, five House Members, and five Supreme Court Justices — to consider and resolve the disputed returns.”

If no commission is put together, the senators plan to vote against certifying the results of the Electoral College.

Author: Jacob Hall