***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

The number of Iowa legislators who have signed the Education Freedom Pledge has grown in the last week. And the updated list of lawmakers has one key signature on it.

State Sen. Amy Sinclair, who chairs the Senate Education Committee, signed the pledge.

Other legislators listed from the Iowa Senate are:

Sen. Jeff Taylor
Sen. Jesse Green
Sen. Brad Zaun
Sen. Ken Rozenboom

Legislators listed from the Iowa House are:

Rep. Jeff Shipley
Rep. Henry Stone
Rep. Skyler Wheeler
Rep. John Wills
Rep. Mark Cisneros
Rep. Anne Osmundson
Rep. Cherielynn Westrich
Rep. Steven Holt
Rep. Eddie Andrews

The Iowa Senate passed a school choice package earlier this year during the legislative session. The Iowa House approved parts of it, but failed to pass any sort of Education Savings Account bill.

Here is the text of the pledge:

“I pledge to support policies that promote parental rights in education and educational freedom. This includes the right of parents to voice their opinions at school board meetings and to take their children’s taxpayer-funded education dollars to the education providers of their choosing – whether it be a public, private, charter, or home school.”

Author: Jacob Hall