***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Republican State Representatives Jon Jacobsen and Tom Jeneary introduced House Joint Resolution 6 into the Iowa House of Representatives.

The bill proposes an amendment to the Iowa Constitution which would limit years of service for members of the Iowa legislature.

Members of the Iowa House would not be eligible to serve more than four consecutive terms. Members of the Iowa Senate would be capped at two consecutive terms.

The bill was introduced on Jan. 25 and referred to the State Government Committee.

There is no subcommittee scheduled for the bill yet.

Author: Jacob Hall