***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Rep. Kat Cammack (R-FL-03) joined Rep. Young Kim (R-CA-39) in sending a bipartisan letter to President Biden urging his administration to deny Iranian President Ebrahim Raisi and his delegation entry into the United States for the United Nations 77th General Assembly in New York later this month.

President Raisi was a member of the Tehran “death committee” responsible for the 1988 organized mass execution of 30,000 Iranian political prisoners, most of which were members or supporters of the People’s Mojahedin of Iran (MEK/PMOI). His regime continues supporting terrorism abroad and attempts to kill American citizens and Iranian political dissidents on U.S. soil.

“As a member of the Homeland Security Committee, this is without a doubt a dire national security issue,” said Rep. Cammack. “To allow an admitted terrorist to not only enter into our country is not something we can allow as a country that values free, democratic principles and human rights. Especially considering that the 77th General Assembly is scheduled to start just two days after the anniversary of 9/11, it would be completely insensitive and thoughtless for the Biden administration to ignore this pressing matter.”

“Given Ebrahim Raisi’s record of supporting terrorism and violating human rights, he should not be afforded the privilege to step onto American soil nor the privilege to address the United Nations General Assembly,” the members wrote. “We cannot turn a blind eye to perpetrators of gross violations of internationally recognized human rights and cruel regimes that endanger both their people and Americans. We urge you and your administration to carefully consider this matter of national security and to use your authorities under the INA to deny Ebrahim Raisi and his delegation entry into the United States.”

Original signees of the letter include Reps. Cammack (R-FL), Abigail Spanberger (D-VA), Andrew Garbarino (R-NY), Ann Wagner (R-MO), Blaine Luetkemeyer (R-MO), Blake Moore (R-UT), Bob Gibbs (R-OH), Bob Good (R-VA), Bob Latta (R-OH), Brad Wenstrup (R-OH),Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA), Byron Donalds (R-FL), Carlos Gimenez (R-FL), Chris Stewart (R-UT), Claudia Tenney (R-NY), Dan Crenshaw (R-TX), Darrell Issa (R-CA), David McKinley (R-WV), David Valadao (R-CA), Debbie Lesko (R-AZ), Don Bacon (R-NE), Doug LaMalfa (R-CA), Drew Ferguson (R-GA), Greg Steube (R-FL), Gus Bilirakis (R-FL), Guy Reschenthaler (R-PA), Joe Wilson (R-SC), Lisa McClain (R-MI), Louie Gohmert (R-TX), Maria Salazar (R-FL), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), Mike Turner (R-OH), Nancy Mace (R-SC), Neal Dunn (R-FL), Nicole Malliotakis (R-NY), Pete Sessions (R-TX), Ralph Norman (R-SC), Randy Weber (R-TX), Ronny Jackson (R-TX), Scott Perry (R-PA), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Stephanie Bice (R-OK), Ted, Budd (R-NC), Tim Burchett (TN-02), Tim Ryan (D-OH), Tom Emmer (R-MN), Tom McClintock (R-CA), Tony Gonzales (R-TX), Troy Balderson (R-OH), and William Timmons (R-SC).

The full text of the letter may be found here.

Author: Press Release


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here