***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

The Iowa Standard has reported multiple times about an effort in the United States House of Representatives to prohibit the gender-affirmation treatment of minors. The bill, sponsored by Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, has 46 cosponsors.

Republican Rep. Debbie Lesko added her name to the effort earlier this month. But the bill still has no support in the form of cosponsors from Iowa as Representatives Randy Feenstra, Ashley Hinson and Mariannette Miller-Meeks have not cosponsored the legislation.

You can read the legislation here. Exceptions are provided for individuals with both ovarian and testicular tissue, individuals with respect to whom a physician has determined through genetic or biochemical testing that the individual does not have normal sex chromosome structure, sex steroid hormone production or sex steroid hormone action, an individual experiencing infection, disease, injury or disorder caused or exacerbated by previous gender transition procedures or an individual suffering from a physical disorder, physical injury or physical illness that would, as certified by a physician, place the individual in imminent danger of death or impairment of a major bodily function unless the procedure is performed.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here