***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Eighteen Republican senators voted in support of the massive $1.7 trillion omnibus spending bill on Thursday. Iowa Republican Senators Joni Ernst and Chuck Grassley both voted no. Earlier this week Grassley voted yes on a procedural vote to move the bill along, however.

Here is the list of Republicans who voted for the measure:

Sen. Tom Cotton
Sen. Roy Blount 
Sen. John Boozman
Sen. Shelly Capito
Sen. Susan Collins
Sen. John Cornyn
Sen. Lindsey Graham
Sen. Jim Inhofe
Sen. Mitch McConnell
Sen. Jerry Moran
Sen. Lisa Murkowski
Sen. Rob Portman
Sen. Mitt Romney (up in 2024)
Sen. Mike Rounds
Sen. Richard Shelby
Sen. John Thune
Sen. Roger Wicker (up in 2024)
Sen. Todd Young

Only two of the Republicans who voted yes will have to face their voters in 2024. The other 16 either just won re-election, are retiring or will not be up for re-election until 2026.

Seven of the 12 Senate Republicans who voted in support of the (Dis)Respect for Marriage Act also voted for this $1.7 trillion omnibus bill. Those names are bolded.

Romney, who is the only senator to vote for both pieces of legislation and be on the ballot in 2024, has not yet announced if he will seek another term. He told Politico he is confident that if he runs, he’ll win.

Ernst said she is “certainly glad” to see the increase in resources for the Pentagon as well as lethal aid to Ukraine, the “massive, last-minute, 4,200-page spending package is a lump of coal.”

“Washington’s budget process is completely broken,” she said.

Author: Jacob Hall


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here