***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

The State Objection Panel, comprised of Iowa Secretary of State Paul Pate, Attorney General Tom Miller, and State Auditor Rob Sand, will convene Tuesday, March 29 to review challenges to several candidates’ nomination petitions. The meeting is scheduled for 10 a.m. in Room G15 (the legislative dining room) on the first floor of the Iowa State Capitol.

Challenges to the following candidates have been filed:


Abby Finkenauer, Democratic candidate for U.S. Senate

Mike Franken, Democratic candidate for U.S. Senate

Kyle Kuehl, Republican candidate for U.S. House, District 1

Tom Miller, Democratic candidate for Attorney General

Anthony LaBruna, Republican candidate for Iowa Senate, District 3

Ken Rozenboom, Republican candidate for Iowa Senate, District 19

Jack Whitver, Republican candidate for Iowa Senate, District 23

Jeff Shipley, Republican candidate for Iowa House, District 87

The Candidate’s Guides for the Primary Election and General Election, that include detailed instructions, signature requirements, and best practices for acquiring petition signatures, are available on the Iowa Secretary of State’s website.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


  1. It’ll be interesting to see what the challenges are. I support Kyle Kuehl and Jeff Shipley freedom fighting candidates. So I wonder what’s to challenge about them??


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here