***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

***Rumors are swirling Iowa about polling location closures and changes. We’ve contacted the county auditors in Iowa to find out what is actually happening in their county.***

In Des Moines County, auditor Terri Johnson said there will be 13 locations for 16 precincts, which is the same as usual. No changes have been made in the final week of the election.


Two locations were temporarily changed for this election with one due to COVID concerns and the other due to spacing. Those changes were made prior to the official notice of election that appeared in the newspapers.

In addition, Marion County Auditor Jake Grandia said all of the normal precincts — 17 of them — will be open.

Jackson County Auditor Alisa Smith said that her county has 16 precincts and none were consolidated. All election officials have been selected and have agreed to work as well.

Voters can find their polling place at this website.

Iowans can sign up to be poll workers here.

Author: Jacob Hall


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here