***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

U.S. Senator Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), a retired lieutenant colonel in the Iowa Army National Guard, along with her fellow female combat veteran who served in the Reserve Forces for 23 years, Senator Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), announced that they have secured 71 bipartisan cosponsors for their effort to award the U.S. Army Ranger Veterans of World War II with the Congressional Gold Medal.

“America’s World War II Army Rangers were willing to sacrifice life and limb to protect our most sacred freedoms, and their extraordinary service deserves to be recognized,” said Senator Joni Ernst. “Gaining this overwhelming support for our bill is a critical step in making it law, and I’m grateful to my colleagues on both sides of the aisle for their support to honor our courageous Army Rangers with a Congressional Gold Medal.”

“U.S. Army Rangers bravely wore the uniform of this great nation and participated in some of the most important battles of World War II,” said Senator Tammy Duckworth. “The impact and influence of these elite Soldiers and the sacrifices they made to protect their fellow Americans cannot be overstated. I’m glad to see the bipartisan legislation I introduced with Senator Ernst to award these Veterans with a Congressional Gold Medal is gaining support from members on both sides of the aisle, and I look forward to it becoming law.”

“I am thrilled to see so much support behind our bipartisan legislation to recognize World War II Army Rangers,” said Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (R-Iowa). “As a 24-year Army veteran, I am proud to continue pushing for the passage of this legislation with my fellow veteran legislators. We will never forget the service of these soldiers and we will honor their sacrifice.”

“The courage and sacrifice of WWII Rangers has inspired generations of Rangers and service members. U.S. Army Rangers played a significant role in some of the most important battles of WWII – and the Ranger motto ‘Rangers Lead the Way,’ was coined during the attack on Omaha Beach. I’m proud to join with Senator Ernst to honor the service and sacrifice of these heroes with our WWII Army Rangers Congressional Gold Medal,” said Rep. Jason Crow (D-Colo.).

The full list of Senate cosponsors includes: Ernst (R-Iowa), Duckworth (D-Ill.), Van Hollen (D-Md.), Warren (D-Mass.), Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Hassan (D-N.H.), Cornyn (R-Texas), Crapo (R-Idaho), Hoeven (R-N.D.), Braun (R-Ind.), Cantwell (D-Wash.), Capito (R-W.V.), Rubio (R-Fla.), Risch (R-Idaho), Baldwin (D-Wis.), Reed (D-R.I.), Menendez (D-N.J.), Cramer (R-N.D.), Murray (D-Wa.), Hirono (D-Hawaii), Rosen (D-Nev.), Cotton (R-Ark.), Cruz (R-Texas), Casey (D-Pa.), Feinstein (D-Calif.), Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Boozman (R-Ark.), Peters (D-Mich.), Portman (R-Ohio), Hawley (R-Mo.), Blunt (R-Mo.), Markey (D-Mass.), Kelly (D-Ariz.), Sanders (I-Vt.), Wicker (R-Miss.), Burr (R-N.C.), Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Moran (R-Kan.), Cardin (D-Md.), Murphy (D-Conn.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Shaheen (D-N.H.), Smith (D-Minn.), Tillis (R-N.C.), King (I-Maine), Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Stabenow (D-Mich.), Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Ossoff (D-Ga.), Coons (D-Del.), Bennet (D-Colo.), Warnock (D-Ga.), Schumer (D-N.Y.), Manchin (D-W.V.), Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Collins (R-Maine), Daines (R-Mont.), Lummis (R-Wyo.), McConnell (R-Ky.), Romney (R-Utah), Sasse (R-Neb.), Shelby (R-Ala.), Tuberville (R-Ala.), Young (R-Ind.), Tester (D-Mont.), Wyden (D-Ore.), Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Heinrich (D-N.M.), Kennedy (R-La.), Brown (D-Ohio).

Author: Press Release


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here