***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

During Women’s History Month and National Agriculture Week, U.S. Senators Joni Ernst (R-Iowa) and Tina Smith (D-Minn.)—both members of the Senate Agriculture Committee—are calling for this upcoming Thursday, March 24, to be designated as “National Women in Agriculture Day,” honoring “the countless women who help agriculture prosper both at home and abroad.” The senators are introducing a bipartisan resolution that has the support of 55 fellow senators.

“As we observe Women’s History Month and National Agriculture Week, we recognize women who were pioneers in their respective fields,” said Senator Joni Ernst. “Women have always played leading roles in American agriculture, from farming and research to agricultural education and agribusiness. This week, I invite all Americans to join me in celebrating National Women in Agriculture Day.”


“Agriculture is the backbone of Minnesota’s diverse economy,” said Senator Tina Smith. “Women have always played an essential role in this sector, and I’m proud to support this bipartisan effort to set aside a day during Women’s History Month and National Agriculture Week where we step back and recognize the women who have been central to our agricultural achievements and success.”

Click HERE to view the text of the senators’ bipartisan resolution.

The senators are joined on their bipartisan resolution by the following cosponsors: Senators Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Patty Murray (D-Wash.), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-Nev.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Cory Booker (D-N.J.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Ben Ray Luján (D-N.M.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Roger Marshall (R-Kansas), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), James Risch (R-Idaho), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Lindsay Graham (R-S.C.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Angus King (I-Maine), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Mark Kelly (D-Ariz.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), and Ben Cardin (D-Md.).

Author: Press Release

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here