***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Conservative Review provides a “Liberty Score” by grading members of Congress. The group examines what it calls the top-50 votes over a rolling six-year term and then assigns a letter grade to each member to help “quickly determine whether a lawmaker is supporting conservative principles.”


“The Liberty Score helps evaluate your representatives and senators, providing the necessary tools to separate rhetoric from reality,” Conservative Review states.

United States Sen. Chuck Grassley receives an F from Conservative Review — whose editor-in-chief is none other than Mark Levin. Grassley’s score is a meager 58 percent.

What votes did Grassley take that earned him a failing grade when it comes to liberty? Here is the list from Conservative Review:

On March 25, 2021, Grassley voted to extend the Paycheck Protection Program without steps to mitigate fraud.

On March 10, 2021 Grassley voted to confirm Michael Regan to be the Administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency.

On March 9, 2021, Grassley voted to confirm Merrick Garland to be Attorney General.

On Jan. 26, 2021, Grassley voted to confirm Antony Blinken to be Secretary of State.

On Jan. 25, 2021, Grassley voted to confirm Janet Yellen as Secretary of the Treasury.

On Dec. 22, 2020, Grassley voted for the so-called COVID relief bill and $1.4 trillion special interest spending.

On Dec. 11, 2020, Grassley voted for the National Defense Authorization Act without Section 230 reforms.

On May 14, 2020, Grassley voted no on requiring the government to obtain a warrant before using FISA courts to spy on Americans.

On March 18, 2020, Grassley voted for the “gag-and-vote-for-it” small-business-killing coronavirus emergency legislation.

On Dec. 19, 2019, Grassley voted to pass a $555 billion Christmas minibus spending spree.

On Sept. 26, 2019, Grassley voted to keep spending on autopilot.

On Aug. 1, 2019, Grassley voted to suspend the debt ceiling, cancel the budget caps and increase spending by $321 billion.

On May 23, 2019, Grassley voted to pass a $19 billion spending bill without funding for the border crisis.

On Feb. 14, 2019, Grassley voted to surrender on the border wall while empowering drug cartels and human traffickers.

On Dec. 19, 2018, Grassley voted to release dangerous criminals from federal prisons.

On Sept. 18, 2018, Grassley voted to pass a promise-breaking cromnibus before the election.

On June 28, 2018, Grassley voted to kill an amendment to reform food stamps with stronger work requirements and upgraded job training.

On June 21, 2018, Grassley voted to block final repeal of Waters of the U.S. rule.

On Jan. 16, 2018, Grassley voted to support unconstitutional abuses of Americans’ privacy.

On Oct. 24, 2017, Grassley voted for the bailout flood insurance program and spent $36.5 billion.

If you’re curious, here are some of the top performers according to Conservative Review’s Liberty Score:

Sen. Mike Lee – 94%
Sen. Rand Paul – 94%
Sen. Tommy Tuberville – 93%
Sen. Marsha Blackburn – 90%
Sen. Cynthia Lummis – 87%
Sen. Roger Marshall – 87%
Sen. Rick Scott – 84%
Sen. Mike Braun – 84%
Sen. Josh Hawley – 84%
Sen. Ben Sasse – 83%
Sen. Ted Cruz – 82%
Sen. Jim Risch – 80%

Fellow U.S. Senator from Iowa, Joni Ernst, received 64 percent — a ‘D’ grade.

Other Republican Senators who received a failing grade include:

Sen. Jim Inhofe
Sen. Dan Sullivan
Sen. Marco Rubio
Sen. Bill Cassidy
Sen. Richard Shelby
Sen. Mitt Romney
Sen. John Boozman
Sen. Cindy Hyde-Smith
Sen. Jerry Moran
Sen. John Hoeven
Sen. Todd Young
Sen. Thom Tillis
Sen. John Cornyn
Sen. Roger Wicker
Sen. Lindsey Graham
Sen. Mike Rounds
Sen. Richard Burr
Sen. Shelley Capito
Sen. Mitch McConnell
Sen. John Thune
Sen. Roy Blunt
Sen. Rob Portman
Sen. Lisa Murkowski

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here