Former State Rep. Heartsill announces candidacy for GOP nomination in new Iowa House District 37

***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

With the passage of the latest redistricting maps, former State Representative Greg Heartsill has announced his candidacy for the open seat in the newly created House District 37.

“As there is no incumbent residing in the new district, I prayerfully considered my return to public service and I do so with the full support of my family and numerous previous constituents,” Heartsill stated.

The new house district includes most of Marion County (excluding Knoxville, Franklin, and Union Townships), the western portion of Mahaska County, and the southern portion of Jasper County.

Heartsill commented, “The Federal Government is running roughshod over jurisdictions belonging to states and individuals.  Now more than ever, Iowa citizens need legislators who understand the 10thAmendment and who have the courage to put a stop to Federal encroachment.”

He continued, “My previous tenure in the Iowa House demonstrates my dedication to making a difference in the lives of all Iowans and most definitely, the constituents I represent.  I will absolutely pick up where I left off in advocating common sense legislation to make Iowa’s citizens safer and making government more efficient and less burdensome to see a positive impact on small businesses in rural Iowa.”

Heartsill served as State Representative for portions of Jasper, Marion, and Lucas Counties in the 85th through 87th General Assemblies.

The first general election for the new house districts will be in November 2022.