***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Arizona Congressman Paul Gosar said that Joe Biden is “willfully ignoring” the law by refusing to provide expenditure reports related to the COVID-19 national emergency declaration.

U.S. Code states when a President declares a national emergency or Congress declares war, the President shall transmit to Congress a report on the total expenditures incurred by the U.S. government during such six-month period which are directly attributable to the exercise of powers and authorities conferred by such declaration within 90 days after the end of each six-month period after such declaration.

Gosar, who led the bicameral letter with Sen. Roger Marshall (R-KS) to Biden and Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen, said his constituents “demand, and are entitled to, accountability and a full reporting of every dime spent on the COVID-19 emergency.”

“Joe Biden must stop breaking the law by continuously dragging his feet on providing these mandated reports to Congress showing exactly how much money has been spent,” Gosar said.

According to Gosar’s office, Biden’s administration has missed every deadline and failed to report the expenditures of “even one dime” as of Thursday.

There were 44 signers of the letter and 12 advocacy groups who supported the effort.

Signers (44):  Senators Roger Marshall, JD Vance, Marco Rubio, & Mike Braun. Representatives Paul Gosar, Guy Reschenthaler, Mike Johnson, Byron Donalds, Lauren Boebert, Troy Nehls, Ralph Norman, Tom Tiffany, Mary Miller, Harriet Hageman, Marjorie Taylor Greene, Andy Ogles, Warren Davidson, Bob Good, Debbie Lesko, Anna Paulina Luna, Matt Rosendale, Eli Crane, Randy Weber, Chip Roy, Andy Biggs, Lance Gooden, Rich McCormick, William Timmons, Jeff Duncan, Chuck Edwards, John Duarte, Dan Bishop, Garrett Graves, Barry Moore, Richard Hudson, Josh Brecheen, Diana Harshbarger, Tim Burchett, Ronny Jackson, Brian Babin, Jim Baird, Keith Self, Ben Cline, Cory Mills

Supporters (12):  FreedomWorks, Americans for Limited Government, Heritage Action, Tea Party Patriots, Advancing American Freedom, Competitive Enterprise Institute, Leadership Institute, Less Government, CatholicVote, Association of Mature American Citizens, Independent Women’s Voice, American Principles Project

A copy of the letter can be found here.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here