***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

The House Appropriations Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies (THUD) released the Fiscal Year 2022 Appropriations bill for the subcommittee. The THUD Subcommittee bill included Congresswoman Hinson’s Community Project Funding (CPF) requests for Iowa’s First Congressional District. The three CPF requests she submitted for this subcommittee were written into the bill.

“I am glad that these funding requests were included in the THUD Subcommittee funding bill. These projects will have a measurable impact in our community,” said Congresswoman Ashley Hinson. “Iowa taxpayers send so much of their hard-earned money to the federal governmentI will always fight to bring your taxpayer dollars home to be reinvested in Iowa.”


Hinson’s CPF requests included in the THUD bill:


Project Name: Tower Terrace Road Corridor

Amount: $5,000,000


Project Name: Jones County Affordable Housing Project

Amount: $500,000


Project Name: Chaplain Schmitt Island Trail Connection

Amount: $615,000

More details on these requests can be found here. This is the final of twelve subcommittee funding bills to have been released. The Transportation, Housing and Urban Development and Related Agencies Appropriations bill still needs to be considered by the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate before being signed into law.

Author: Jacob Hall


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here