***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

This morning, House Speaker Pat Grassley (R-New Hartford) announced appointments for House committee leadership positions in advance of the Eighty-Ninth General Assembly.

“House Republicans are energized and ready to hit the ground running to address the priorities that they have heard from Iowans over the last several months,” said Speaker Grassley. “Representing 97 of Iowa’s 99 counties, House Republicans have heard a clear message from Iowans in every corner of our state: they want us to reignite our economy, help folks get back to work and school safely, and return to normalcy is quickly as possible. This hard-working group of talented legislators are uniquely equipped to spearhead our efforts and do just that.

In addition, House Republicans will continue to demonstrate the strong fiscal leadership that has made Iowa’s budget the most resilient in the country, look for ways to reduce taxes on working families, ensure our kids receive the best education possible, and make sure that Iowans are able to access and afford critical health services no matter where they live.”

Committee leadership is as follows:

Standing Committees:

Administrative Rules Review
Rep. Megan Jones (R-Sioux Rapids) – Chair

Rep. Ross Paustian (R-Walcott) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Chad Ingels (R-Randalia) – Vice Chair

Rep. Gary Mohr (R-Bettendorf) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Shannon Latham (R-Sheffield) – Vice Chair

Rep. Shannon Lundgren (R-Peosta) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Mark Cisneros (R- Muscatine) – Vice Chair

Economic Growth
Rep. Ray Sorensen (R-Greenfield) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Henry Stone (R-Forest City) – Vice Chair

Rep. Dustin Hite (R-New Sharon) – Chair
Rep. Skyler Wheeler (R-Orange City) – Vice Chair

Environmental Protection
Rep. Dean Fisher (R-Montour) – Chair
Rep. Tom Moore (R-Griswold) – Vice Chair

Rep. Anne Osmundson (R- Volga) – Chair

Government Oversight
Rep. Holly Brink (R-Oskaloosa) – Chair
Rep. Jon Jacobsen (R-Council Bluffs) – Vice Chair

Human Resources
Rep. Ann Meyer (R-Fort Dodge) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Steve Bradley (R-Cascade) – Vice Chair

Information Technology
Rep. Brian Lohse (R-Bondurant) – Chair
Rep. David Sieck (R-Glenwood) – Vice Chair

*Note: This is a new committee that will focus on state technology infrastructure, cyber security, and broadband issues.

International Relations
Rep. Terry Baxter (R-Garner) – Chair
Rep. Jon Thorup (R-Knoxville) – Vice Chair

Rep. Steve Holt (R-Denison) – Chair
Rep. Stan Gustafson (R-Cumming) – Vice Chair

Rep. Dave Deyoe (R-Nevada) – Chair
Rep. Jeff Shipley (R-Birmingham) – Vice Chair

Local Government
Rep. Jane Bloomingdale (R-Northwood) – Chair
Rep. Brent Siegrist (R-Council Bluffs) – Vice Chair

Natural Resources
Rep. Rob Bacon (R-Slater) – Chair
Rep. Tom Jeneary (R-Le Mars) – Vice Chair

Public Safety
Rep. Jarad Klein (R-Keota) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Cherielynn Westrich (R-Ottumwa) – Vice Chair

State Government
Rep. Bobby Kaufmann (R-Wilton) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Brooke Boden (R-Indianola) – Vice Chair

Rep. Brian Best (R-Glidden) – Chair
Rep. Dave Maxwell (R-Gibson) – Vice Chair

Veterans Affairs
Rep. Sandy Salmon (R-Janesville) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Martin Graber (R-Fort Madison) – Vice Chair

Ways & Means
Rep. Lee Hein (R-Monticello) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Carter Nordman (R-Adel) – Vice Chair

Appropriations Subcommittees:

Administration and Regulation Appropriations
Rep. John Landon (R-Ankeny) – Chair
Rep. Michael Bergan (R-Dorchester) – Vice Chair

Agriculture and Natural Resources Appropriations
Rep. Norlin Mommsen (R-DeWitt) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Dennis Bush (R-Cleghorn) – Vice Chair

Economic Development Appropriations
Rep. Phil Thompson (R-Jefferson) – Chair
Rep. Tom Gerhold (R-Atkins) – Vice Chair

Education Appropriations
Rep. David Kerr (R-Morning Sun) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Garrett Gobble (R-Ankeny) – Vice Chair

Health and Human Services Appropriations
Rep. Joel Fry (R-Osceola) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Eddie Andrews (R-Johnston) – Vice Chair

Justice Systems Appropriations
Rep. Gary Worthan (R-Storm Lake) – Chair
Rep.-Elect Charlie McClintock (R-Alburnett) – Vice Chair

Transportation, Infrastructure, and Capitals Appropriations
Rep. Jacob Bossman (R-Sioux City) – Chair
Rep. Anne Osmundson (R-Volga) – Vice Chair

Full committee assignments will be announced at a later date.  The Eighty-Ninth General Assembly begins Monday, January 11, 2021.

Author: Press Release