***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

A bill making daylight savings time the permanent time in the state of Iowa passed the Iowa House 82-13 on Monday. But, even if the Senate passes it and Gov. Kim Reynolds signs it, Congress must pass a law allowing states to adopt daylight savings time as the year-round time.


Iowa would join 19 other states going to permanent daylight savings time if the Senate passes the bill and Reynolds approves.

Republican Rep. Mike Sexton cited studies that reveal the time change leads to “significant public health and safety risks.” The risks include increased risk of adverse cardiovascular events, mood disorders, motor vehicle crashes, workplace accidents, etc.

Originally, changing the clocks was done in an effort to save energy. But now, Sexton said, that is unnecessary.

The bill was amended by Democrat Rep. Bruce Hunter to make it clear Iowa would not move to daylight savings time until Congress allows it to.

The only concern Hunter had with the bill after his amendment passed is the possible confusion caused if bordering states do not also make the change.

Sexton noted in his final comments that 63 percent of U.S. adults support the change, while just 16 percent oppose it.

Representatives voting against the bill include:

Rep. Liz Bennett (Democrat)
Rep. Michael Bergan (Republican)
Rep. Dennis Bush (Republican)
Rep. Cecil Dolecheck (Republican)
Rep. John Forbes (Democrat)
Rep. Tom Gerhold (Republican)
Rep. Pat Grassley (Republican)
Rep. Monica Kurth (Democrat)
Rep. Charlie McConkey (Democrat)
Rep. Tom Moore (Republican)
Rep. Anne Osmundson (Republican)
Rep. Sandy Salmon (Republican)
Rep. Cindy Winckler (Democrat)

Author: Jacob Hall

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here