***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on grassroots financial supporters to exist. If you appreciate what we do, please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter (even just $5/month would go a long way in sustaining us!) We also offer advertising options for advocacy groups, events and businesses! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News Media” — this is YOUR chance to do something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250 Thank you so much for your support and please invite your friends and family to like us on Facebook, sign up for our email newsletter and visit our website!***

This morning, House Republicans held elections to fill out the caucus’ leadership team in advance of the 2021 legislative session.

The following four Assistant Leaders were elected:

  • Rep. Cecil Dolecheck (R-Mount Ayr)
  • Rep. Joe Mitchell (R-Mount Pleasant)
  • Rep. Brent Siegrist (R-Council Bluffs)
  • Rep. Jon Thorup (R-Knoxville)

“House Republicans are thrilled to have this talented group of citizen-legislators as part of our leadership team. Our caucus is energized and excited to get back to work this session and address the priorities of Iowans,” said Speaker Pat Grassley (R-New Hartford). “House Republicans are committed to responsibly managing the state budget, addressing the state’s workforce needs, keeping our economy on track, and helping Iowans get back to work, school, and normalcy as quickly and safely as possible.”

The 89th Iowa General Assembly will convene on Monday, January 11, 2021.