***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

The Iowa State Education Association (teachers’ union) congratulated six Republicans who won seats in the Iowa House on Wednesday.

The ISEA is a prominent Democrat donor, giving $542,000 to the Iowa Democrat Party on their most recent disclosure report. In addition, ISEA gave Deidre DeJear $25,000 on that report.

Here are the six Republicans the Iowa Teachers’ Union is pumped to have return to the legislature:

ISEA made the following donations to Republicans before the primary:

$2,500 to Rep. Dustin Hite (lost his primary)
$1,000 to Rep. Megan Jones (won but didn’t receive a “congrats” post from ISEA)
$1,000 to Rep. Brent Siegrist
$500 to Rep. Brian Lohse
$500 to Rep. Jane Bloomingdale

ISEA has been a vocal opponent of banning mask mandates in schools as well as school choice for Iowa parents. They also strongly opposed the bill protecting women’s sports and the bathroom bill.

Author: Jacob Hall


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here