***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

On Friday, March 18th, 2022, Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02) signed on as a cosponsor of H.R. 7019, the Rural Prosperity Act. This bipartisan bill, introduced by Reps. Angie Craig (MN-02) and Dan Newhouse (WA-04), would streamline federal services for rural America and cut bureaucratic red tape by establishing the Office of Rural Prosperity – a permanent office in the White House tasked with coordinating federal efforts to support and connect America’s rural communities to federal programs and resources.

This legislation is the House companion to S.  3803, which was introduced by Sen. Mark Kelly (D-AZ).


“Rural America is the backbone of our country. Unfortunately, it is often left behind and forgotten. The Rural Prosperity Act would work to make sure that does not happen,” said Miller-Meeks. “We have seen a lot of success with Iowa’s Center for Rural Revitalization and federal agencies like the Department of Agriculture’s Office of Rural Development. I hope we can spread the importance of rural development across the country and close the gap between urban and rural.”

To read the full text of this legislation, click HERE.

Author: Press Release

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here