***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Republican Congresswoman Mariannette Miller-Meeks was the lone GOP House representative to vote in favor of a special commission to investigate the Jan. 6 Capitol protest.

The commission was supported by all 217 Democrats as well as 35 Republicans who went against GOP leadership as well as President Donald J. Trump.

Miller-Meeks joined GOP congressional representatives:

Don Bacon (Neb.)
Cliff Bentz (Ore.)
Stephanie Bice (Okla.)
John Curtis (Utah)
Rodney Davis (Ill.)
Brian Fitzpatrick (Pa.)
Jeff Fortenberry (Neb.)
Andrew Garbarino (N.Y.)
Carlos Gimenez (Fla.)
Tony Gonzales (Texas)
Michael Guest (Miss.)
French Hill (Ark.)
Trey Hollingsworth (Ind.)
Chris Jacobs (N.Y.)
Dusty Johnson (S.D.)
David Joyce (Ohio)
David McKinley (W.Va)
Blake Moore (Utah)
Tom Reed (N.Y.)
Maria Elvira Salazar (Fla.)
Mike Simpson (Idaho)
Christopher H. Smith (N.J.)
Van Taylor (Texas)
Steve Womack (Ariz.)

These Republicans voted for the commission as well as for impeachment:
Liz Cheney (Wyo.)
Anthony Gonzalez (Ohio)
Jaime Herrera Beutler (Wash.)
John Katko (N.Y.)
Adam Kinzinger (Ill.)
Peter Meijer (Mich.)
Dan Newhouse (Wash.)
Tom Rice (S.C.)
Fred Upton (Mich.)
David Valadao (Calif.)

Author: Jacob Hall


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here