Miller-Meeks Recognizes Distinguished Hawkeye Veterans

***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Today, December 2nd, 2021, Rep. Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02) spoke on the floorof the House of Representatives to recognize five members of the University of Iowa community for receiving the Hawkeye Distinguished Veteran Award.


Mr. Speaker, I rise today to honor several men and women for dedicating their lives to service of this country and to Iowa.

Recently, three University of Iowa alumni, a staff member, and a graduate student received the 2021 Hawkeye Distinguished Veterans Award for their honorable service to this great nation and their continued service to the University of Iowa and Iowa City community.

The recipients of this prestigious award are Chaplain George M. Campbell, Jr., Colonel Kenneth E. Madden, Staff Sgt. Maria Guadalupe Bruno, General Charles A. Horner, and Staff Sgt. Jake L. Schillo.

Thank you to these wonderful men and women for their service to the United States and Iowa.

Thank you, I yield back the balance of my time.

Author: Press Release


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here