***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Iowa House Speaker Pat Grassley announced his selections of committee chairs earlier this week. We have previously told you about the Iowa State Education Association-backed Republicans in the Iowa House.

To recap, here are the Republicans in the Iowa House we know were backed by the teachers union:

Representative Gary Mohr – House District 93
Representative Brian Best – House District 11
Representative Mike Sexton – House District 7
Representative Jane Bloomingdale – House District 60
Representative Brian Lohse – House District 45
Representative Brent Siegrist – House District 19
Representative Megan Jones – House District 6

ISEA has been a vocal opponent of banning mask mandates in schools as well as school choice for Iowa parents. They also strongly opposed the bill protecting women’s sports and the bathroom bill.

Jones was named the chair of the Administrative Rules Review Committee. Sexton was named the chair of the Agriculture Committee. Bloomingdale, who also has an anti-life voting record, is chair of State Government. Best was named the chair of Transportation Committee. Mohr is chair of Appropriations. Lohse is chair of the Justice Systems Appropriations Subcommittee.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here