***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

On Tuesday, Rep. Ralph Norman (SC-5) introduced a bill, No Federal Funds for Abortion Travel Expenses Act of 2022, to restrict federal funding of abortion travel where not otherwise already prohibited by the Hyde Amendment.

The bill comes after the Senate’s FY23 LHHS appropriations bill included a $350 million Abortion Travel Fund for individuals living in pro-life states to travel to obtain abortions, and after the Administration has called for federal action to expand access to abortion travel.

Following the release of the Dobbs ruling in June, the Biden Administration has worked to find ways to increase abortion access. President Joe Biden released an executive order that directs the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) to “consider any action to advance access to reproductive healthcare services, including through Medicaid for patients who travel out of state for reproductive healthcare services.”

Rep. Norman issued the following statement on Wednesday: “It is absolutely unacceptable that Senate Democrats and the Biden Administration are doing everything they can to fund abortions in this post-Roe world. Using federal funds for this purpose is sickening, considering the Supreme Court recently left the issue of abortion up to the states. Remember, many Democrats including our President used to be of the opinion that abortions should only happen in rare circumstances. My Republican colleagues and I will put our foot down every time the federal government attempts to step in on the matter of the right to life.”
Original cosponsors include: Rep. Jeff Duncan (SC), Rep. Greg Stube (FL), Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA), Rep. Mary Miller (IL), Rep. Steve Palazzo (MS), Rep. Andrew Clyde (GA), Rep. Jody Hice (GA), Rep. Randy Weber (TX), Rep. Louie Gohmert (TX), Rep. Jeff Van Drew (NJ), Rep. Andy Biggs (AZ), Rep. Brian Babin (TX), Rep. Ben Cline (VA), Rep. Warren Davidson (OH), Rep. Jodey Arrington (TX), Rep. Markwayne Mullin (OK), Rep. William Timmons (SC), Rep. Lauren Boebert (CO), Rep. Roger Williams (TX), Rep. Lance Gooden (TX), Rep. Ken Buck (CO), Rep. Doug Lamborn (CO), Rep. Michael Guest (MS), Rep. Alex Mooney (WV), Rep. Michael Waltz (FL), Rep. Tracey Mann (KS).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here