***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

On Tuesday, Representative Chip Roy (TX-21), and Senator Ted Budd (R-NC) led 26 of their colleagues in the House and Senate to demand that President Biden withdraw his reported selection of the radical, partisan Dr. Mandy Cohen to serve as the next Director of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC).

“Dr. Cohen is unfit for the position,” the Members of Congress explained. “Throughout her career, Dr. Cohen has politicized science, disregarded civil liberties, and spread misinformation about the efficacy and necessity of COVID vaccinations and the necessity of masks, during her time as the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services. She also has a history of engaging in partisan left-wing politics.

The lawmakers went on to share examples of Dr. Cohen’s radical actions as the Secretary of the North Carolina Department of Health and her disqualifying history of being a partisan activist and fundraising for elected Democrats.

“Given her strong affiliation with the Democrat Party and the COVID-19 lockdowns, it will be difficult for the American people to trust Dr. Cohen to run the CDC as a nonpartisan actor who makes objective decisions rooted in scientific data, and not in political expediency. Therefore, we urge you to reverse course on Dr. Cohen’s reported appointment to the Director of the CDC,” the letter concludes.

The 6 Senate signers include Sens. Ted Budd (R-NC), Mike Lee (R-UT), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), Ted Cruz (R-TX), J.D. Vance (R-OH) and Mike Braun (R-IN).

The 22 House signers include Reps. Chip Roy (R-TX-21), Ralph Norman (R-SC-5), Byron Donalds (R-FL-19), Michael Cloud (R-TX-27), Paul Gosar (R-AZ-9), Mary Miller (R-IL-15), Scott Perry (R-PA-10), Trey Nehls (R-TX-22), Aaron Bean (R-FL-4), Jeff Duncan (R-SC-3), Matt Rosendale (R-MT-2), Eric Burlison (R-MO-7), Debbie Lesko (R-AZ-8), Andy Biggs (R-AZ-5), Dan Bishop (R-NC-8), Ronny Jackson (R-TX-13), Josh Brecheen (R-OK-2), Diana Harshbarger (R-TN-1), Bob Good (R-VA-5), Andy Ogles (R-TN-5), Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA-14), and Randy Weber (R-TX-14).

Read the full letter here.

Author: Press Release


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here