***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

From Rep. Cindy Winckler’s newsletter:

Assistance is now available to Iowans who are affected by severe flooding.   Last week, the Governor issued a disaster proclamation for numerous counties across Iowa and also activated Iowa’s State Emergency Operations Center to coordinate flood emergency response.

The proclamation allows state resources to be used for recovery and activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program for qualifying residents, along with the Disaster Case Management Program, for 43 counties, including: Adair, Audubon, Bremer, Buena Vista, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Dallas, Delaware, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Franklin, Fremont, Guthrie, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa, Kossuth, Marshall, Mills, Monona, Montgomery, O’Brien, Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pottawattamie, Shelby, Sioux, Tama, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worth, and Wright.

Individual Assistance Grants

The Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for household of three. These grants are available for home or car repairs, clothing or food and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery.

The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services (DHS) website and potential applicants have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim. The link to the application can be found here:  https://dhs.iowa.gov/disaster-assistance-programs?utm_medium=email&utm_source=govdelivery.

Disaster Case Management

Disaster Case Management is a program designed to provide assistance for a disaster-related hardship, injury, or adverse conditions. Disaster case managers work with individuals to create a disaster recovery plan and provide guidance, advice, and referral to obtain a service or resource. There are no income eligibility requirements for this program and it closes 180 days from the Governor’s proclamation date. The Disaster Case Management Program is administered through local community action associations. For example, Pottawattamie’s local agency contact information can be found here: http://iowacommunityaction.org/agencies/west-central-community-action.

Extension on Income Taxes

The Iowa Department of Revenue has granted a 30-day extension and suspension of any penalty or interest for taxpayers whose principal residence or business is located in a disaster area and whose payment or return is due on or before March 31, as a response to the Governor’s disaster declaration.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here