***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on grassroots financial supporters to exist. If you appreciate what we do, please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter (even just $5/month would go a long way in sustaining us!) We also offer advertising options for advocacy groups, events and businesses! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News Media” — this is YOUR chance to do something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250 Thank you so much for your support and please invite your friends and family to like us on Facebook, sign up for our email newsletter and visit our website!***

We told you about the School Bathroom Bill that died in the Iowa legislature due to the first funnel deadline last week.

But Senate File 167 also fell victim to the legislative deadline.

The bill, filed by Sen. Jim Carlin and cosponsored by Senators Jason Schultz, Jeff Taylor, Craig Johnson, Mike Klimesh, Amy Sinclair, Ken Rozenboom and Tom Shipley, established that curriculum used by a school district or accredited nonpublic school shall not include instruction relating to gender identity.

The prohibition on such curriculum did not apply for students in grades 1-6 if the district or nonpublic school obtained the prior written consent of the student’s parent or guardian.

Carlin and Rozenboom passed the bill out of subcommittee on Feb. 16, but the legislation never advanced out of the Senate Education Committee.

It is not known if there was simply not enough support for the bill in committee or if it was not a priority.

Sponsors of the bill included five members of the Education Committee:

Sinclair (chair of the committee)
Taylor (vice chair of the committee)
Carlin (sponsor of the bill)

Other Republicans on the committee include:
Chris Cournoyer
Tim Goodwin
Tim Kraayenbrink
Annette Sweeney
Brad Zaun

Author: Jacob Hall