***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

U.S. Senator Tommy Tuberville (R-AL) continues his drive to strengthen our armed forces and prevent COVID-19 vaccination requirements from impeding military readiness by adding his support to two pieces of legislation, Preserving the Readiness of Our Armed Forces Act and Stop Firing Our Servicemembers Act.

“America’s military recruitment is at an all-time low, putting us further behind adversaries like China,” said Senator Tuberville. “We should not be jeopardizing our national security by putting more restrictions on members of our military who wish to serve. I am proud to support legislation to bolster military readiness and support our men and women in uniform.”

Preserving the Readiness of Our Armed Forces Act would prohibit the involuntary dismissal of a service member for refusing the COVID-19 vaccine until each military service achieves its authorized end strength. The legislation would also require members of the National Guard and reserves to have access to pay and benefits while requests for religious or health accommodation is pending. Joining Senator Tuberville in introducing this legislation are U.S. Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Mike Braun (R-IN), John Hoeven (R-ND), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Roger Marshall (R-KS), and Lindsey Graham (R-SC).

Stop Firing Our Servicemembers Act would prohibit federal funds from being used to require a member of the National Guard to receive a COVID-19 vaccination and prohibit the Department of Defense from taking any adverse action against the member for refusing vaccination. Joining Senator Tuberville in introducing this legislation are U.S. Senators Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), James Risch (R-ID), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Mike Braun (R-IN), Steve Daines (R-MT), and Tom Cotton (R-AR).

Author: Press Release


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here