***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Republicans in the Iowa Senate elected their leadership on Friday, a few days after the 2020 general election. Sen. Jack Whitver has been selected as the Majority Leader once again. Sen. Jake Chapman was named Senate President.

Whitver was elected to the Iowa Senate in 2010. He was chosen by Senate Republicans to preside over the Senate as President in 2016 and became Majority Leader in 2018.

“For three election cycles in a row, Iowans have spoken and clearly stated they want leadership in Des Moines to conservatively manage the state budget, implement policies to encourage growth, and continue to provide tax relief for working families,” Whitver said. “It is a privilege to lead this caucus. It is a dynamic group of people who are deeply connected to their districts and I am excited to spend the next two years delivering on our promises.”

Chapman was elected to the Iowa Senate in 2012 to represent all of Guthrie and Adair Counties and portions of Dallas, Cass, and Polk counties. He resides in Adel with his wife and five children.

“It is an honor to be chosen as President of the Senate by my colleagues,” Chapman said. “This caucus embraces challenges and charts a bold, conservative path to improving this state and making it the best place in the country to live, work, and raise a family. I look forward to working with all our members to implement that agenda.”

House Speaker Pat Grassley extended his congratulations.

“House Republicans are ready and excited to work alongside the Senate and Governor Reynolds to pass a conservative budget, continue to address the state’s worker shortage and get folks back to work, school and their normal lives safely and responsibly, as well as our other shared priorities,” Grassley said.

Sen. Brad Zaun was named President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Sen. Amy Sinclair was named Majority Whip.

Assistant Majority Leaders include:

Sen. Chris Cournoyer
Sen. Carrie Koelker
Sen. Mark Lofgren
Sen. Zach Whiting

Author: Jacob Hall


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here