***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on grassroots financial supporters to exist. If you appreciate what we do, please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter (even just $5/month would go a long way in sustaining us!) We also offer advertising options for advocacy groups, events and businesses! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News Media” — this is YOUR chance to do something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250 Thank you so much for your support and please invite your friends and family to like us on Facebook, sign up for our email newsletter and visit our website!***

Today, Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver, R-Ankeny, announced chairs and vice chairs of Senate standing committees for the eighty-ninth Iowa General Assembly.


Senator Zumbach – Chair

Senator Sweeney – Vice Chair


Senator Kraayenbrink– Chair

Senator Lofgren – Vice Chair


Senator Schultz – Chair

Senator Koelker – Vice Chair


Senator Sinclair – Chair

Senator Taylor – Vice Chair


Senator Koelker – Chair

Senator Carlin – Vice Chair

Government Oversight

Senator Schultz – Chair

Senator Williams – Vice Chair

Human Resources

Senator Edler – Chair

Senator Costello – Vice Chair


Senator Zaun – Chair

Senator Garrett – Vice Chair


Senator Whiting– Chair

Senator Green – Vice Chair

Local Government

Senator Shipley – Chair

Senator Klimesh – Vice Chair

Natural Resources

Senator Sweeney – Chair

Senator Driscoll – Vice Chair


Senator Whitver – Chair

Senator Chapman – Vice Chair

State Government

Senator Smith – Chair

Senator  Cournoyer – Vice Chair


Senator Brown – Chair

Senator Shipley – Vice Chair

Veterans Affairs

Senator Carlin – Chair

Senator Reichman – Vice Chair

Ways and Means

Senator Dawson – Chair

Senator Goodwin – Vice Chair

The Appropriations subcommittee chairs are:

Administration and Regulation

Senator Guth – Chair

Agriculture & Natural Resources

Senator Rozenboom – Chair

Economic Development

Senator Lofgren – Chair


Senator Cournoyer  – Chair

Health and Human Services

Senator Costello – Chair

Justice Systems

Senator Garrett – Chair

Transportation, Infrastructure, and Capitals

Senator Johnson – Chair

Senator Zach Whiting will be the vice chair of the Administrative Rules Review Committee.

Senator Zach Nunn will remain on military duty through the 2021 Legislative Session.