***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Candidate pledges can ring hollow, but The Iowa Standard is a big proponent of the American Principles Project’s “Big Family Pledge.”

In fact, it was one of the first things we asked candidates about. And, because of that, Iowa had an incredibly high number of candidates take the pledge.


Many of these candidates were successful in their primary elections on Tuesday night.

Here is the text of the pledge, followed by a list of Iowa Republicans who have taken the pledge.

I pledge to do all in my power to actively support legislation, litigation, and other efforts that would:

  1. Defend girls’ sports by prohibiting biological males from participating, including at the collegiate level;
  2. Protect children from experimental “gender transition” procedures, including irreversible surgeries, chemical castration, and psychiatric neglect;
  3. Let kids be kids and protect them from dangerous and divisive propaganda being taught in schools, such as critical race theory and gender ideology;
  4. Safeguard children from exposure to pornography, obscenity, and indecency;
  5. Protect life from conception to natural death.

Rep. Jeff Shipley, House District 87
Rep. Skyler Wheeler, House District 4
Rep. Sandy Salmon, running for Senate District 29
Brad Sherman, House District 91
Heather Hora, House District 92
Ken Carlson, House District 13
Charley Thomson, House District 58
Luana Stoltenberg, House District 81
Rep. Steven Bradley, House District 66
Mark Thompson, House District 56
Zach Dieken, House District 5
Rep. Henry Stone, House District 9
Rep. Tom Gerhold, House District 84
Kevin Alons, Senate District 7
Lynn Evans, Senate District 3
Sarah Abdouch, House District 20
Colman Silbernagel, Senate District 42

If Republicans still want to sign the pledge, they may do so here.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here