***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Today, Speaker of the Iowa House Pat Grassley (R-New Hartford) announced personnel changes to committee assignments.

The changes come as two additional members join the Iowa House Republican caucus after winning special elections this fall.  Mike Bousselot (R-Ankeny) and Jon Dunwell (R-Newton) will each be placed on four new committees.

“With two new Representatives and a 60-seat majority, Iowa House Republicans are eager to return to the Capitol and get to work on addressing the priorities of the people of Iowa,” said Grassley. “Our hardworking and talented new legislators are ready to hit the ground running and embrace these important roles to join House Republicans in our efforts to make Iowa the best place to live, work and raise a family.”

All new committee assignments are as follows:

-Michael Bergan (R-Dorchester) will be added to the Appropriations Committee.

-Mike Bousselot will be added to the Commerce (Vice-Chair), Labor, Economic Growth, and Administrative Rules Review Committees.

-Jon Dunwell will be added to the Admin and regulations Subcommittee (Vice-Chair), as well as the Transportation, Environmental Protection, and Local Government Committees.

-Tom Jeneary (R-Le Mars) will be added to the Agriculture and Natural Resources Subcommittee.

-Brent Siegrist (R-Council Bluffs) will be added to the Ways and Means Committee.

Mike Boussselot was elected to represent Iowa House District 37 in August in a special election to fill the seat of late Representative John Landon. Jon Dunwell was elected to represent House District 29 in October in a special election to fill the seat of retired Representative Wes Breckenridge.

The 2022 Legislative Session is set to begin on January 10, 2022.

Author: Press Release