***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on grassroots financial supporters to exist. If you appreciate what we do, please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter (even just $5/month would go a long way in sustaining us!) We also offer advertising options for advocacy groups, events and businesses! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News Media” — this is YOUR chance to do something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250 Thank you so much for your support and please invite your friends and family to like us on Facebook, sign up for our email newsletter and visit our website!***

The Iowa State Canvassing Board certified the state’s election results on Monday afternoon. It is just one step in the statutory process in place for Iowa’s election, and any challenge or contest of a particular result is covered in the next step, according to Jeff Thompson of the Iowa Attorney General’s office.

Secretary of State Paul Pate noted that a record-breaking 1.7 million Iowans voted for about 76 percent turnout, which is among the highest in the nation.

Harrison County had an 88 percent turnout to lead the state. Every Iowa county surpassed 65 percent turnout.

Included in the results certified Monday is the six-vote victory obtained by Republican Mariannette Miller-Meeks against Democrat Rita Hart in Iowa’s Second District.

Miller-Meeks finished with 196,964 votes while Hart had 196,958.

Author: Jacob Hall