***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on grassroots financial supporters to exist. If you appreciate what we do, please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter (even just $5/month would go a long way in sustaining us!) We also offer advertising options for advocacy groups, events and businesses! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News Media” — this is YOUR chance to do something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250 Thank you so much for your support and please invite your friends and family to like us on Facebook, sign up for our email newsletter and visit our website!***

David Young, Republican candidate for Iowa’s Third Congressional District, today announced the endorsement of 34 current and former Iowa legislators, including current and former leadership of both chambers.

“I am honored by the endorsement of all of these legislators from the Third District,” said David Young. “I got to know these people very well while criss-crossing the district, and they are all very dedicated to their constituents and representative government in the State of Iowa. I look forward to working with them over the coming months to win this seat.”

The full list of current and former Iowa Legislators:

President of the Senate Charles Schneider
Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver
Speaker of the House Pat Grassley
Former President of the Senate and U.S. Ambassador Mary Kramer
Former President of the Senate Jeff Lamberti
Former Speaker of the House Linda Upmeyer
Former Speaker of the House Brent Siegrist
State Representative and Former House Majority Leader Chris Hagenow

Former State Representative Clel Baudler
Former State Representative Carmine Boal
Former State Representative Dan Clute
State Senator Mark Costello
Former State Representative Peter Cownie
State Senator Dan Dawson
State Representative Cecil Dolecheck
State Representative Stan Gustafson
Former State Representative Brad Hansen
State Representative Mary Ann Hanusa
Former State Representative Jake Highfill
Former State Representative Libby Jacobs
Former State Senator JoAnn Johnson
Former State Representative Kevin Koester
State Representative John Landon
Former State Senator Chuck Larson
State Representative Brian Lohse
State Representative Tom Moore
State Senator Zach Nunn
Former State Representative Scott Raecker
Former State Representative Renee Schulte
State Senator Tom Shipley
State Representative David Sieck
State Representative Ray “Bubba” Sorensen
Former State Representative Doug Struyk
Former State Representative Rob Taylor
Former State Representative Ralph Watts

“I have stayed out of the political arena for the last few years, thinking I’ve done my service, and time to make room for others. However, this time the stakes are just too high,” said former President of the Senate and former U.S. Ambassador Mary Kramer.  “I believe the current House of Representatives is failing at its most basic constitutional tasks, and we must do everything we can to bring a new direction to Congress.  David Young has proven he can provide leadership and get things done.  I support David Young for Congress.”

“David Young gave Iowa a voice in the halls of Congress,” said Senate Majority Leader Jack Whitver. “David’s leadership on the Appropriations Committee ensured Iowa wasn’t forgotten when it came to legislation, and he cut red tape for our citizens, business owners, manufactures, and farmers. I look forward to him returning to office and continuing that relationship.”

State Senator Tom Shipley said, “Rural Iowa has a true friend and leader in David Young. As a member of Congress, he showed up, he listened, and he took those concerns back to Congress and simply got things done.  Now more than ever we need someone who truly understands how Washington D.C affects us here in rural Iowa, and that person is David Young.”

State Representative Mary Ann Hanusa said, “I am proud to continue my support for David Young.  As a member of Congress,  David listened to his constituents and worked hard to represent them. The people of Iowa’s 3rd District will be David’s highest priority. He is a leader and he is my friend.”

David Young was elected to serve the Third Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives in 2014 and reelected in 2016. He served on the influential Committee of Appropriations. Prior to his service in the U.S. Congress, Young served Iowans as U.S. Senator Chuck Grassley’s Chief of Staff from 2006-2013. A graduate of Johnston High School and Drake University, Young is a seventh generation Iowan and resides in Van Meter.

Author: Press Release