***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

The Marion County Central Committee met on Monday night and voted on a resolution calling for new GOP leadership in the U.S. House, U.S. Senate and Republican National Committee. It passed unanimously and was sent to Senators Chuck Grassley and Joni Ernst as well as Representatives Ashley Hinson, Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Zach Nunn and Randy Feenstra on Tuesday.

“With the direction of our country moving in a dangerous direction, it is vital for the leadership within the Republican Party to continue to represent our conservative views, which include trust, integrity and transparency,” the letter from chair Steve Everly said. “The current Republican leadership, within both the United States Senate and the United States House of Representatives have proven to be weak in representing our values and beliefs.”

The letter asks the elected officials to “please hear our voice when we say we strongly and respectfully discourage a vote for Mitch McConnell, Senator (KY) and Kevin McCarthy, Representative (CA).”

“Instead, look to elect strong leaders who will represent the voice of the people and not their financial portfolios,” the letter concluded.

Here is the resolution as passed:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here