***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on grassroots financial supporters to exist. If you appreciate what we do, please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter (even just $5/month would go a long way in sustaining us!) We also offer advertising options for advocacy groups, events and businesses! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News Media” — this is YOUR chance to do something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250 Thank you so much for your support and please invite your friends and family to like us on Facebook, sign up for our email newsletter and visit our website!***

Congresswoman Ashley Hinson (IA-01) today introduced the Repealing Illegal Freedom and Liberty Excises (RIFLE) Act. Under current law, there is a $200 tax on the transfer and purchase of firearms regulated under the National Firearms Act. This legislation would remove the existing $200 tax on firearms sold to law-abiding gun owners.

According to the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF), the transfer tax was intended to “curtail, if not prohibit, transitions” of firearms. In essence, the federal government intentionally placed a financial barrier on the Second Amendment.

“The federal government should not be placing financial barriers on the inalienable rights of Americans. This unconstitutional tax on certain firearm purchases is a direct violation of the Second Amendment and must be repealed. As the Biden Administration and Democrats push proposals that unfairly target law-abiding gun owners, I will continue to stand up for Iowans’ right to keep and bear arms.”  Congresswoman Ashley Hinson

Congresswoman Hinson introduced this bill alongside 60 original co-sponsors: Representative Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Jody Hice (GA-10), Yvette Herrell (NM-02), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Matt Rosendale (MT-AL), Greg Steube (FL-17), Burgess Owens (UT-04), Mo Brooks (AL-05), Scott Perry (PA-10), Ralph Norman (SC-05), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Mike Gallagher (WI-08), Alex X. Mooney (WV-02), Fred Keller (PA-12), Ted Budd (NC-13), Jason Smith (MO-08), Lance Gooden (TX-05), Steve Womack (AR-03), Randy K. Weber (TX-14), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Ann Wagner (MO-02), Richard Hudson (NC-08), Michelle Fischbach (MN-07), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Randy Feenstra (IA-04), Claudia Tenney (NY-22), Clay Higgins (LA-03), Warren Davidson (OH-08), Brian Babin, D.D.S (TX-36), Elise Stefanik (NY-21), Thomas Massie (KY-04), Bill Johnson (OH-06), Scott DesJarlais, M.D. (TN-04), Paul A. Gosar, D.D.S. (AZ-04), Roger Williams (TX-25), Mike Simpson (ID-02), Tom McClintock (CA-04), Pete Sessions (TX-17), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Mark Amodei (NV-02), Don Young (AK-AL), Jim Jordan (OH-04), Lee Zeldin (NY-01), Buddy Carter (GA-01), Peter Meijer (MI-03), Tracey Mann (KS-01), Lisa McClain (MI-10), Dan Bishop (NC-09), Michael Cloud (TX-27), Tom Rice (SC-07), Dan Newhouse (WA-04), Mike Kelly (PA-16), Barry Moore (Al-02), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), August Pfluger (TX-11), Jodey Arrington (TX-19), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Madison Cawthorn (NC-11), Daniel Webster (FL-11).

Author: Press Release