***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Representatives Ashley Hinson and Mariannette Miller-Meeks were among 45 House Republicans who signed a letter criticizing the removal of Rep. Kevin McCarthy as Speaker of the House.

McCarthy became the first Speaker of the House to lose a vote to vacate the chair after eight Republicans joined House Democrats in removing him. Those eight Republicans had various reasons, but ultimately said they could not trust McCarthy.

The letter stated that McCarthy has been “one of the most accomplished Republican leaders in modern history.”

“He has tirelessly worked with all factions of our conference to restore regular order, decentralize decision making, reopen the People’s House and achieve real results in a divided government on issues ranging from energy independence and combatting crime to cutting out-of-control spending and securing our border,” it said.

The 45 representatives who signed the letter said they are “ashamed and embarrassed” at the vote to vacate the chair.

The 45 representatives criticized the “chaos caucus” for joining the Democrats.

They also said McCarthy’s removal is an “injustice” that couldn’t go unaddressed.

“Lest we bear responsibility for the consequences that follow,” it said.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here