***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250
On Thursday, Congressman Andrew Clyde (GA-09) led 65 of his House Republican colleagues in sending a letter to U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Secretary Denis McDonough expressing outrage over the VA’s false claims that House Republicans’ Limit, Save, Grow Act cuts veterans’ benefits.
Additionally, the lawmakers demand the immediate removal of the VA’s April 21st press release containing this dishonest allegation, as well as an apology to our nation’s veterans: “America’s veterans will not be gaslighted by the Biden Administration, and the Members of Congress who voted to pass the Limit, Save, Grow Act of 2023 will not be cowed into allowing these egregious lies to go unchecked. We are resolute in reining in Washington’s out-of-control spending, and we are committed to do so in a responsible manner that protects those who put their lives on the line to defend our precious freedoms. Therefore, we demand that you immediately remove the press release titled ‘Budget Cut Proposals Would Hurt Veterans’ published on April 21, 2023, and issue an apology to our veterans for intentionally creating undue fear and anxiety in order to advance a false and sinister narrative for political gain.”
“Instead of effectively negotiating a responsible path forward on the debt ceiling with House Republicans, President Biden is determined to push blatant falsehoods about our sensible solution,” said Clyde. “Our Limit, Save, Grow, Act has zero cuts to veterans’ benefits — and the White House knows this. Yet in a desperate attempt to deflect from the President’s inaction, the VA is shamelessly spreading this baseless lie in order to advance a dangerous political narrative. As a 28-year Navy combat veteran, I’m severely disgusted and disappointed that the President is exploiting the brave men and women who fought for our freedoms to promote a brazen, fear-inducing falsehood. Given the severity of these egregious allegations, Secretary McDonough must swiftly retract the VA’s press release and immediately issue an apology to our nation’s veterans.”
Read Fox News’ exclusive on Rep. Clyde’s letter HERE.
Full text of the letter is available HERE.
Co-signers include Representatives Mark Alford (MO-04), Rick Allen (GA-12), Mark Amodei (NV-02), Kelly Armstrong (ND-At-Large), Brian Babin (TX-36), Andy Barr (KY-06), Cliff Bentz (OR-02), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Gus Bilirakis (FL-12), Dan Bishop (NC-08), Lauren Boebert (CO-03), Josh Brecheen (OK-02), Michael Burgess (TX-26), Eric Burlison (MO-07), Michael Cloud (TX-27), Eli Crane (AZ-02), Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Anthony D’Esposito (NY-04), Warren Davidson (OH-08), Monica De La Cruz (TX-15), Scott DesJarlais (TN-04), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Chuck Edwards (NC-11), Drew Ferguson (GA-03), Russell Fry (SC-07),Russ Fulcher (ID-01), Bob Good (VA-05), Paul Gosar (AZ-09), Marjorie Taylor Greene (GA-14), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Andy Harris (MD-01), Diana Harshbarger (TN-01), Clay Higgins (LA-03), Richard Hudson (NC-09), Wesley Hunt (TX-38), Ronny Jackson (TX-13), Mike Kelly (PA-16), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Nick Langworthy (NY-23), Barry Loudermilk (GA-11), Anna Paulina Luna (FL-13), Nancy Mace (SC-01), Tracey Mann (KS-01), Rich McCormick (GA-06), Mark Green (TN-07), Mary Miller (IL-15), Alex Mooney (WV-02), Blake Moore (UT-01), Greg Murphy (NC-03) Ralph Norman (SC-05), Jay Obernolte (CA-23), Andy Ogles (TN-05), Scott Perry (PA-10), August Pfluger (TX-11), Bill Posey (FL-08), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Matt Rosendale (MT-02), Chip Roy (TX-21), Claudia Tenney (NY-24), Tom Tiffany (WI-07), Jeff Van Drew (NJ-02), Tim Walberg (MI-05), Randy Weber (TX-14), Bruce Westerman (AR-04), and Ryan Zinke (MT-01).

Author: Press Release


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here