***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Twenty United States House Republicans voted against H.R. 6552 earlier this week. The bill is called the Frederick Douglass Trafficking Victims Prevention and Protection Reauthorization Act of 2022.

Congressman Chip Roy released a statement explaining his opposition to the bill:


“I voted NO on H.R. 6552.

The scourge of human trafficking, resulting in tens of thousands of Americans and immigrants being abused sexually and in slave labor throughout our nation, is an abomination and must be rooted out — beginning with a secure border and a seriousness of resolve against cartels moving human beings for profit.

Nevertheless, I once again find myself having to oppose a bill designed to address the problem because Washington “leaders” on both sides of the aisle refuse to do our job responsibly; this bill costs $553 million to continue and is not paid for.  Moreover, the bill won’t actually solve the problem and embraces leftist talking points.

The swamp and its corporate media lackeys want you to believe that the only way to address a problem is to throw more money at it and put it under the title of something that sounds important.  I was sent to Washington to change it, not embrace the same stupid crap we’ve always done in a nice-sounding package.”

Joining Roy in opposition to the bill was:

Rep. Brian Babin, Texas
Rep. Andy Biggs, Arizona
Rep. Lauren Boebert, Colorado
Rep. Mo Brooks, Alabama
Rep. Ken Buck, Colorado
Rep. Andrew Clyde, Georgia
Rep. Matt Gaetz, Florida
Rep. Louie Gohmert, Texas
Rep. Paul Gosar, Arizona
Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene, Georgia
Rep. Jody Hice, Georgia
Rep. Andy Harris, Maryland
Rep. Thomas Massie, Kentucky
Rep. Tom McClintock, California
Rep. Mary Miller, Illinois
Rep. Troy Nehls, Texas
Rep. Ralph Norman, South Carolina
Rep. Scott Perry, Pennsylvania
Rep. Van Taylor, Texas

Iowa’s entire delegation — Representatives Cindy Axne, Randy Feenstra, Ashley Hinson and Mariannette Miller-Meeks — all voted in support.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here