***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

This week at the Iowa Capitol, Representative Jeff Shipley (R-Van Buren) introduced House File 2303, “The Second Amendment Preservation Act” along with eighteen cosponsors.

The proposed bill essentially declares federal laws that infringe on the Second Amendment as invalid in Iowa, ensuring that Iowa law enforcement will only enforce Iowa laws. The bill further imposes a $50,000 civil penalty per violation.

“President Joe Biden’s nasty habit of targeting conservatives with aggressive, sweeping, and tyrannical executive orders creates the urgent need for this legislation,” Rep. Shipley explains.

Show your support by signing your  “Second Amendment Preservation Act” Petition!

House File 2303 is modeled after language enacted last year by the State of Missouri. The Missouri law has survived one legal challenge last year and heard arguments before the Missouri Supreme Court on another legal challenge this week.

“Our biggest fear is that Joe Biden or Kamala Harris will unilaterally turn many Iowans into criminals overnight by targeting common firearm accessories. Not only does this bill protect Iowa gun owners from the federal government, this bill supports Iowa law enforcement by never placing them in an ambiguous legal situation.” Shipley explained.

“HF2303 is the perfect combination of “Back the Blue” and “Let’s Go Brandon.” Shipley added.

HF 2303 has been referred to the Public Safety Committee where the next step is a subcommittee meeting.  Senator Zach Nunn (R-Polk)  has filed SF2002 as a Senate companion bill which cleared a subcommittee meeting in January, and awaits further action in the Senate judiciary committee.

List of cosponsors for HF2303

Rep. Bradley

Rep. Jeneary

Rep. Boden

Rep. Cisneros

Rep. Salmon

Rep. Osmundson

Rep. Kaufmann

Rep. Westrich

Rep. Wheeler

Rep. Jacobsen

Rep. Gerhold

Rep. Thompson

Rep. Stone

Rep. Kerr

Rep. Mitchell

Rep. Sorenson

To Support the Second Amendment Preservation Act, you can sign your petition  — here — 

Author: Press Release


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here