***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

As Mother’s Day approaches, U.S. Rep. Randy Weber (TX-14) has introduced a resolution recognizing the significance of motherhood and the impact mothers have on raising the next generation. The definition of “mother” has come under attack in recent years with terms like birthing person, gestational parent, chest feeder, menstruating people, pregnant people, and people with a capacity for pregnancy.

“We should never change the fundamental concept of motherhood to fit some new woke ideals,” said Rep. Weber. “This distortion of language is not only disrespectful to the millions of mothers who have devoted their lives to raising their children, but it also erodes the very foundation of our society. The term ‘mother’ has a special meaning that gender-neutral terms cannot replace. On this Mother’s Day, we are reaffirming our commitment to honor and celebrate the true meaning of motherhood. Attempts to—quite literally—neutralize the meaning of motherhood are beyond absurd.  Instead, we should uplift the countless mothers who make our world a better place.”

This resolution would:

  1. Supports policies that recognize mothers as mothers;
  2. Acknowledges that Mother’s Day is intended specifically to commemorate motherhood and to honor the mothers of the United States;
  3. Recognizes the importance of motherhood, the sacrifices women make when choosing to raise a family, and the invaluable contributions of motherhood to the family, community, states, and the country as a whole;
  4. And encourages the people of the United States to observe Mother’s Day in celebration of the women who have chosen to bring life into the world and nurture the next generation.

Read the bill here.

Cosponsors include: Reps. Scott Franklin (FL-18), Troy Nehls (TX-22), Michael Cloud (TX-27), George Santos (NY-03), Nancy Mace (SC-01), Keith Self (TX-03), Tracey Mann (KS-01), Paul Gosar (AZ-09), Debbie Lesko (AZ-08), Monica De La Cruz (TX-15), Jake Ellzey (TX-06), Brian Babin (TX-36), Pat Fallon (TX-04), Michael McCaul (TX-10), August Pfluger (TX-11), Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Andy Biggs (AZ-05), Lance Gooden (TX-05), Rich McCormick (GA-06), Barry Moore (AL-02), Mary Miller (IL-15), Ashley Hinson (IA-02), John Carter (TX-31), Roger William (TX-25), Pete Sessions (TX-17), Kay Granger (TX-12), Larry Bucshon (IN-08), Nathaniel Moran (TX-01), John Rose (TN-06), Warren Davidson (OH-08), Beth Van Duyne (TX-24), Mike Ezell (MS-04), Dale Strong (AL-05), Glenn Grothman (WI-06),  Victoria Spartz (IN-05), Nicole Malliotakis (NY-11), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-01), Stephanie Bice (OK-05), Kat Commack (FL-03), Rick Crawford (AR-01), Lisa McClain (MI-09), and Harriet Hageman (WY-At Large).

Author: Press Release


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here