***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Congressman Markwayne Mullin (R-OK-2) filed a House Resolution to expunge the Jan. 13, 2021 impeachment of President Donald J. Trump. Mullin picked up 33 cosponsors — but none are from Iowa.

Representatives Randy Feenstra, Ashley Hinson and Mariannette Miller-Meeks are nowhere to be found on the resolution, which was filed on May 18, 2022.


The resolution doesn’t mince words.

“Whereas Article I of the Resolution, entitled ‘Incitement of Insurrection,’ contains a subjective account of that which transpired at the Capitol on Jan. 6, 2021,” it says.

It points out Democrat leadership in the House made “no effort” to understand the rationale behind the “widespread mistrust harbored by American voters in the wake of the 2020 Presidential election.”

The resolution points out that President Trump won 18 of the 19 bellwether counties across America that have predicted the winner of every Presidential election since 1980.

It points out that Trump received approximately 10,100,000 more votes than he did in 2016.

“Making President Trump the first incumbent President in 132 years, since Grover Cleveland’s failed bid for re-election in 1888, to have increased his vote from his initial election and seemingly still not won re-election in the subsequent cycle,” the resolution states.

It also points out that Secretaries of State and State boards of election across the country changed State election laws “sua sponte” in the name of “health and safety” in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

It points out public officials in numerous states issued guidance to counties that local election officials were precluded from performing on-the-spot signature analysis, ensuring absentee ballots could not be rejected because an election official believed the voter’s signature on a ballot envelope did not match the signature on file.

It points out four Democrat legislators — Senators Elizabeth Warren, Amy Klobuchar and Ron Wyden along with Rep. Mark Pocan — were “formerly enthusiastic proponents of voting machine integrity” and went so far as to send a letter to voting system companies providing real examples of voting machine problems — such as switching votes, rejecting paper ballots and being vulnerable to cyberattack.

It points out recount efforts following the 2020 Presidential Election were “vociferously opposed” by Governors and Secretaries of State in swing states like Arizona, Pennsylvania, Michigan, Wisconsin and Georgia.

It puts into context a couple of comments made by President Trump on Jan. 6 that Democrats took out of context during impeachment proceedings.

Ultimately the Resolution expunged the Jan. 13, 2021 impeachment of President Trump as if it never passed the full House of Representatives.

(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({});



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here