***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Sens. Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa) and Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), former chairman and current chairman, respectively, of the Senate Judiciary Committee, today introduced a resolution designating 2024 as the Year of Democracy. 


“Our founders had tremendous foresight in building a government that champions ideological differences while uniting us under common principles. In doing so, they passed the baton to future generations, tasking every American with preserving the foundation they laid.” Grassley said. “This resolution serves as a reminder that we should constantly be working together to maintain our democratic values, in ways big and small. We must never take our democracy for granted.”


“Our democracy is only as strong as our commitment to relentlessly pursue its ideals of liberty and justice for all,” Durbin said. “Today’s resolution affirms our commitment to the multi-generational endeavor to protect and advance our shared democratic ideals. I hope that during 2024, we reflect on the progress we’ve made and the continued work we still need to do to strengthen our democratic nation.”


The lawmakers successfully led an effort to mark September of last year as National Democracy Month. Dedicating a whole year to democracy further emphasizes the resolution’s purpose: to urge Americans to reflect on the ways in which the U.S. governing system helps encourage freedom and stability nationwide and around the globe.   


Full text of the resolution is available HERE

Author: Press Release


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here