***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

Third District Congressman Zach Nunn was the only member of the Iowa U.S. House delegation to vote in favor of an amendment that would have prohibited the sale and transfer of cluster munitions to Ukraine.

The amendment, offered by Congresswoman Marjorie Taylor Greene, received 147 votes in support, but 276 votes against. In all, 98 Republicans and 49 Democrats joined to support the effort.

Most of the conservative members of the U.S. House voted in favor of the amendment — conservatives like Andy Biggs, Lauren Boebert, Matt Gaetz, Bob Good, Paul Gosar, Jim Jordan, Thomas Massie, Mary Miller, Chip Roy and others.

Representatives Randy Feenstra, Ashley Hinson and Mariannette Miller-Meeks all voted against the ban.

Florida Congressman Cory Mills said he was “proud” to support the amendment.

“It’s unfortunate more members do not understand the civilian collateral damage and innocent lives lost due to this measure failing,” said the decorated Army combat veteran.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here