***The Iowa Standard is an independent media voice. We rely on the financial support of our readers to exist. Please consider a one-time sign of support or becoming a monthly supporter at $5, $10/month - whatever you think we're worth! If you’ve ever used the phrase “Fake News” — now YOU can actually DO something about it! You can also support us on PayPal at [email protected] or Venmo at Iowa-Standard-2018 or through the mail at: PO Box 112 Sioux Center, IA 51250

On Thursday, U.S. Senators Rand Paul (R-KY) and JD Vance (R-OH), along with U.S. Representative Chip Roy (R-TX-21) led dozens of their fellow members of congress in sending a bicameral letter to the White House rejecting further U.S. funding for the war in Ukraine.

The letter to the White House reads, in part:

“Your request cites President Biden’s pledge that ‘we will stand with Ukraine as it defends its sovereignty for as long as it takes’ … These statements imply an open-ended commitment to supporting the war in Ukraine of an indeterminate nature, based on a strategy that is unclear, to achieve a goal yet to be articulated to the public or the Congress.

“The American people deserve to know what their money has gone to. How is the counteroffensive going? Are the Ukrainians any closer to victory than they were 6 months ago? What is our strategy, and what is the president’s exit plan? What does the administration define as victory in Ukraine? What assistance has the United States provided Ukraine under Title 10? It would be an absurd abdication of congressional responsibility to grant this request without knowing the answers to these questions. For these reasons—and certainly until we receive answers to the questions above and others forthcoming—we oppose the additional expenditure for war in Ukraine included in your request.”

Dr. Paul, Sen. Vance and Rep. Roy were joined by Sen. Mike Braun (R-IN), Sen. Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Sen. Mike Lee (R-UT), Sen. Roger Marshall (R-KS, Rep. Paul A. Gosar (R-AZ), Rep. Dan Bishop (R-NC), Rep. Bill Posey (R-FL), Rep. Roger Williams (R-TX), Rep. Clay Higgins (R-LA), Rep. Harriet M. Hageman (R-WY), Rep. Bob Good (R-VA), Rep. Warren Davidson (R-OH), Rep. Anna Paulina Luna (R-FL), Rep. W. Gregory Steube (R-FL), Rep. Josh Brecheen (R-OK), Rep. Andy Ogles (R-TN), Rep. Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Rep. Russell Fry (R-SC), Rep. Eli Crane (R-AZ), Rep. Jeff Duncan (R-SC), Rep. Beth Van Duyne (R-TX), Rep. Lance Gooden (R-TX), Rep. Mary E. Miller (R-IL), Rep. Byron Donalds (R-FL), Rep. Michael Cloud (R-TX), and Rep. Troy Nehls (R-TX).

You can read the full letter HERE, and can read more about Dr. Paul’s efforts HERE.

Author: Press Release


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here